Ends on September 15, 2017

$25.00 USD

The Dzanc Books Prize for Fiction recognizes daring, original, and innovative writing. A $10,000 advance and publication in Fall 2018 by Dzanc Books will be awarded to the winner. Finalists will be compiled in-house and passed along for evaluation to this year’s judges: Lindsey Drager (The Lost Daughter Collective and The Sorrow Proper), Chrissy Kolaya (Charmed Particles), and Daniel A. Hoyt, author of This Book Is Not For You, winner of the inaugural Prize for Fiction.

The contest is open to new, upcoming, and established writers alike. Agented submissions are also eligible, and we ask that you include all agency contact information with the application. All submitted works must be previously unpublished novel-length manuscripts and should include a brief synopsis, author bio, and contact information. The full work should be formatted as a Word .doc or .docx file.

We will accept submissions from March 1st, 2017 through midnight on September 15th, 2017. There is a $25 submission fee. (Note: we will not accept physical entries.) A short list of finalists will be published on the Dzanc web page on October 16th, and the winner will be announced on November 1st.

Dzanc Books is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. All contest fees will go toward funding the prize as well as supporting Dzanc’s commitment to producing quality literary works, providing creative writing instruction in public schools through the Dzanc Writers-in-Residence program, and offering low-cost workshops for aspiring authors. 

Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.